News & Events


Physicists Observe Wormhole Dynamics Using a Quantum Computer


Scientists have, for the first time, developed a quantum experiment that allows them to study the dynamics, or behavior, of a special kind of theoretical wormhole. The research is a step toward studying quantum gravity in the lab. [Caltech story]

Tags: research highlights CMS Alexei Kitaev John Preskill Maria Spiropulu Alexander Zlokapa Samantha Davis Nikolai Lauk Daniel Jafferis Joseph Lykken David Kolchmeyer Hartmut Neven

Sarang Mittal Receives 2017 Henry Ford II Scholar Award


Applied Physics student Sarang Mittal, advised by Professor Oskar Painter, is a recipient of the 2017 Henry Ford II Scholar Award. He is currently working with Professor Maria Spiropulu’s team to explore the applications of deep learning and artificial intelligence in high energy particle physics. Using data from the Compact Muon Solenoid detector, he is trying to improve the data analysis pipeline at the Large Hadron Collider. The Henry Ford II Scholar Award is funded under an endowment provided by the Ford Motor Company Fund. The award is made annually to engineering students with the best academic record at the end of the third year of undergraduate study.

Tags: APhMS honors Henry Ford II Scholar Award Oskar Painter Sarang Mittal Maria Spiropulu